Let’s Talk BOOKS

I love love love to read (to see reasons why go here).

I love the classics, Jane Austen, Mark Twain, Dickens, the Bronte sisters, Camus and everyone in between. But lately I am interested in reading contemporary authors and I am trying to compile a list of books to read over the summer (to remind me of grade school & high school years).

Here is my list (which I am sure will take me all the way to fall):

  1. The Vampire Chronicles by Anne Rice(all 10 of them, this should keep me busy enough)
  2. A Game of Thrones (4)
  3. The Hunger Games Trilogy (3)
  4. Let’s Pretend This Never Happened (A Mostly True Memoir) (1)
  5. The Great Gatsby (I know this is a classic but I want to read it again, can you blame me!) (1)

19 books so far, if you have any recommendations I would greatly appreciate them :)

Fun Fact: I love the way old books smell and here is why:

Happy Readings!

-A

10 comments

  1. I love the way old books smell too! YAY! And everyone has The Great Gatsby on their list for this summer, I feel like I need to jump on the band wagon and just do it!

    1. That smell is the best :D And yes just do it!!! Last time I read The Great Gatsby I was in high school so I am looking forward to reading it again. That’s what I love about books it doesn’t matter how many times you read them you learn to appreciate them in a new way each time. Have you read any interesting books lately?

      1. Last time I read it was in high school as well, so I should definitely take another stab at it. I read a few good YA books this month, but so far most of my books have sucked this month. BLEH. I just finished one of the worst books I’ve ever read – The Heart is a Lonely Hunter by Carson McCullers.

    2. okay so don’t answer my last question, I should have clearly visited your blog before replying to your comment, I guess instead of asking you if you had read anything interesting, I should ask out of all that you have read which one is your favorite?

      1. Okay let’s see. I LOVED In the Bedroom by Andre Dubaus, The True Story of Hansel and Gretal by Louise Murphy was this terrifying and beautiful holocaust story, Salvage the Bones by Jesmyn Ward was a great lesson in plot and tension (swoon, loved it), but I think my favorite favorite favorite book of this year was When Women Were Birds. I was scribbling down quotes every second of that book. I definitely recommend it. It’s not really plot driven though – just…driven.

  2. When Women Were Birds, sounds like an incredible book, I will definitely add them to my summer list. I read a brief description of it on Amazon and I am going to have to buy tonight and read it :)

any thoughts? :)

