Back to Basics

We all grow old, gather new knowledge, make new friends, but in spite of all that we tend to go back to the things we know, we go back to the basics.

My basics at the movement are books. I absolutely love the place books take me. Here is a wonderful quote I came across yesterday while browsing Books and Bowel Movements blogs:

“I think we ought to read only the kind of books that wound or stab us. If the book we’re reading doesn’t wake us up with a blow to the head, what are we reading for? So that it will make us happy, as you write? Good Lord, we would be happy precisely if we had no books, and the kind of books that make us happy are the kind we could write ourselves if we had to. But we need books that affect us like a disaster, that grieve us deeply, like the death of someone we loved more than ourselves, like being banished into forests far from everyone, like a suicide. A book must be the axe for the frozen sea within us. That is my belief.”—Franz Kafka

Yesterday a coworker and I along with a mutual friend decided to start a book club, how exciting! I don’t remember being this excited in a while. I just read a trilogy that rocked my socks (and my husbands) off. I loved it and it was that simple read that took me back to the basics. Back to where books were my only source of entertainment, the place where my brain got its daily form of exercise. Oh I am in heaven! It is so strange the feelings/emotions a book can evoke. The healing it can bring to a broken or discourage spirit.

We must remember the power words have, but most importantly the capacity our brain has to bring words found in a book to life. I don’t think we give ourselves enough credit, reading takes courage, it takes guts. Many times books or a simple story can take us where we never would’ve gone alone. We are willing to feel emotions and go to the darkest places of our soul.

I love to read, it is my favorite form of reality. It is in literature that I come face-to-face with my true self. It is the place I let my guards down, it is the place where anything and everything is possible, a place where I don’t question the validity of a statement, I simply believe.

-A

any thoughts? :)

