That Unforgettable Day

I remember exactly where I was when the events of 9/11 took place. We had just moved to Florida from Chicago and I was two weeks into my first semester in high school. I was in my History & Geography class when my teacher’s phone rang, her phone would ring all the time so it was not unusual, what was unusual was her reaction to whatever she heard on the other side. She immediately hung up and without saying a word she turned on the TV and that’s when we saw the buildings.

The feeling I felt in the pit of my stomach I’ll never forget. I was in shock, I couldn’t believe what was going on and I couldn’t understand it either, why and how, were the questions that kept repeating over and over in my head. Why was this happening? and How could this be happening? The world changed that day, my world changed that day forever.

As the day progress parents began to pick up their kids from school and panic struck our nation. I remember getting home, sitting next to my dad happy to find some comfort in his arms but still feeling lost and confused and extremely sad for all the lives that were lost that day. I was 14 years old then, I am 25 years old now and the questions still remain and that feeling in my stomach always returns when I remember where I was on that unforgettable day in September.

We will never forget

-A

any thoughts? :)

