Crock-Pot Madness

Last year, my then fiance, my mom and I decided to do the Black Friday madness, we stood out in freezing temperatures waiting for Target to open (that was my first and last time) I stood in line only to run to the bathroom as soon as we were let inside. We didn’t find anything we were looking for, everything we wanted was already gone. However, later that day my mom went out with my dad and they bought us a crock-pot for when we got married. Forward almost a year and the crock pot was still in its original packaging, untouched and forgotten in our storage. Until one day I came across this recipe: Mexican Slow Cooked Carnitas and I had to give it a try.

20121030-092022.jpg

These are most of the ingredients, the main ingredient (meat) is not in this picture

20121030-092637.jpg

Some garnishes :)

20121030-092651.jpg

This picture was taken before I mixed the cilantro, lime juice and salt. I love chipotle rice and this recipe gave me exactly that :)

20121030-092702.jpg

Carnitas, allowing them to cook for 8 hours was well worth it. The meat was tender and flavorful.

mexican carnitas

Final product: Chipotle like rice and carnitas tacos

Let’s just say after this recipe the hubster is hooked to the crock-pot. I think he might’ve forgotten how to cook the regular way, he wants to put everything in the crock-pot and I am not complaining, it’s easier on both of us. We mix all the ingredients, set the time and we go to work and come home to a house that smells like heaven and a warm meal. Who ever invented the crock-pot, THANK YOU.

To all you busy people out there, if you do not have a crock pot, please do yourselves a favor and buy one. Trust me you will not regret it.

-A

The Cilantro Lime Rice recipe can be found here.

4 comments

    1. I don’t think its an irrational fear, that’s how my husband and I felt until we gave it a try and now we are in love. If you want the first time you use it let it be a day you stay in, the first time we used it I was not feeling well so I was in bed all day, I just got up to mix all the ingredients together set it to cook for 8 hours and went back to bed, when I woke up I had an amazing meal waiting for me. Try it!

any thoughts? :)

