It is so hard to say goodbye

The very first thing I do upon waking up is check Instagram it has become a ritual, my alarm goes off I open the weather app and then Instagram. Any who I scroll aimlessly not looking for anything in particular yesterday morning was no different, I was simply scrolling down 8 hours worth of feed when suddenly I noticed this picture:

20130211-184058.jpg
My immediate reaction was “SHUT UP! WHAT?” And then I did what any other normal person would do, I immediately went to google to verify it was true and it was! My husband was a little confused, he didn’t know what was going on (when it comes to my random comments he never does and I don’t blame him because half the times I don’t even know what goes on in this incredible mind of mine).

You see, I grew up Catholic so the Pope is someone very dear to me (although I never met him nor probably will ever meet him). I went to catholic schools most of my life (with the exception of junior high and high school). I grew up listening to Pope John Paul II, he even visited El Salvador (my place of birth) in 1993, I was too small to attend the open-air mass but I heard it over the radio, the pope visiting our country was an honor. 750,000 attended that mass, in places like El Salvador the Pope is a rock star!

Now that you have some background of what the Pope means to me you can imagine what crossed my mind yesterday when I heard that Pope Benedict had resigned. Complete and utter shock, he might have his reasons but he is the first pope to resign in 600 years and that’s a big deal!

Hopefully a new one will be appointed soon,

Signature

2 comments

any thoughts? :)

