Spotlight: Birch Box

About a month ago a fellow blogger Breezyk posted the following article, Road Tested TopBox. CA where she introduced a new service (at least it was new to me) TopBox (for Canadians) or Birch Box (for Americans). The Birch Box is a service that hand picks beauty and lifestyle samples which they sent to you for $10/month the box ships for free ( $12/month for Top Box).

Birch Box

I am a sucker for snail mail and if that means having to pay to find something other than bills waiting for me when I get home then I am all in. I don’t know much about cosmetics so I figure this would be a great way to be introduced into the world of beauty products (this I am sure will get expensice quick). I am an avid yelper so I will do my best to review the items in each box I don’t usually review beauty products so bare with me, since I am use to giving products/services stars (on yelp) I will do the same here, the highest number of stars an item can receive is 5, here are my ratings:

March.jpg

March’s Box

It felt like Christmas morning when I received my first box. Here are the items that came in the box:

  • Incoco Design Nail Polish Appliques ($10) I have yet to try them so I can’t say whether I like them or not, the design is cute enough so I will definitely use them, they seem easy enough to apply
  • Madewell for Birchbox Nail Emery Board ($5) There’s nothing special about this emery board other than it’s cute design which is enough for me to give it a 4 out 5, I wouldn’t pay $5 for it, maybe $2 at most $3
  • Serge Normant Meta Revive Dry Shampoo ($25) I have not used this yet, I have a dry shampoo from Lush, it’s a powder and I’m happy with the way that one works, this one is in a spray form
  • Twistband Headband Collection ($19) I got one in gray and its pretty, I might actually buy the pack since half the times my hair is up in a bun, these headbands are cute enough to dress up a messy bun, 4 out 5
  • Whish Shave Crave Shaving Cream ($20) nothing special about this product, it smells good and it leaves your skin smooth but so does what I have been using for ever (conditioner, yes I know how dare I not use fancy shaving cream but conditioner does the trick, it allows me to do a close shave and it leaves my skin silky smooth), this gets a 3 out 5

March’s box= 3 out 5

April.jpg

April’s Box

  • Kusmi Tea Paris ($25.95) I got two in the box and I have not tried them yet but they smell heavenly, I love teas so I am sure I am going to love these
  • Mirenesse Glossy Kiss ($26.55) my favorite!!! I don’t normally wear lipstick so the fact that I am wearing this says a lot, it’s multi-purpose it can be used a lipstick or blush, 5 out 5 
  • Oribe Shampoo ($37) & Oribe Conditioner ($39) Both the shampoo and conditioner smell good but I don’t know how I feel about paying $76 for shampoo and conditioner, 3 out 5
  • Skin&Co Bagnodoccia Body Gel ($17.50) I will definitely buy the full size, this leaves your skin silky smooth and it smells like heaven! 5 out 5
  • Supergoop! anti-aging eye cream ($45) I don’t like the thickness of eye cream so I will not be purchasing the full size, 2 out 5

April’s Box= 4 out 5 along with this box I also received a year subscription to Women’s Health (BONUS!)

Overall, I am very pleased with the Birch Box and I am looking forward to my May box :)

Stay Classy,

Signature

2 comments

any thoughts? :)

